35 PLACES · RICHMOND & AROUND
Find a place.
Know the rules.
Trails, shoreline, parks, and patios—with the practical details first.
hikeRichmond
City Code §4-243: dogs may not run at large; immediate control means confinement by fence, tether, or leash. RACC: dogs must be walked on a leash off owner property; e-collars do not qualify. Friends of JRPS: every dog in the Park should be leashed (cites ordinance). Sec. 4-246: unlawful to allow dog unleashed in any City park where dogs may enter.
Fees No park entry fee stated on FOJRP / RVA JRPS pages (free public park system).
Source check · 2026-09-23
shorelineRichmond
Same city ordinance + FOJRP as Belle Isle: leash/tether/fence required for immediate control (City Code §4-243); FOJRP states every dog in the Park should be leashed. Not an off-leash area.
Fees No entry fee stated on FOJRP page.
Source check · 2026-09-23
shorelineRichmond
City Code §4-243 + FOJRP: dogs must be leashed / under immediate control by fence, tether, or leash. Not an off-leash area.
Fees No entry fee stated on FOJRP page.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkRichmond
City lists Forest Hill among parks where dogs are allowed; page also states no unleashed pets in city parks. City Code §4-243 leash/immediate control; §4-246 no unleashed dogs in city parks. Off-leash only in designated dog parks.
Fees No entry fee stated on RVA park pages.
Source check · 2026-09-23
hikeChester
Chesterfield County: dogs must be leashed at all times (County Code §4-23(c)); trails: all dogs must be leashed; clean up waste. Off-leash only in designated dog parks.
Fees Admission fee: Free (Chesterfield facility page).
Source check · 2026-09-23
hikeMidlothian
Foundation park-rules page: all pets must be kept on a leash. Aligns with Chesterfield county leash requirement in parks.
Fees UNKNOWN / none stated on foundation rules page.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkWilliamsburg
Virginia State Parks: pets leashed or confined; leash no longer than 6 feet; supervised; clean up. Park trail guide: pets in enclosed areas or on leash ≤6 ft. Not allowed in public buildings, food service, designated swimming areas (YRSP has no designated swimming areas).
Fees Parking: York River $5 weekdays / $5 weekends (passenger vehicle) per DCR parking fees effective 5/21/2026. Croaker Landing: parking plus $3 launch/pier fee. HOV/bus rates higher on fee table.
Source check · 2026-09-23
shorelineWilliamsburg
Same VSP rule: leash ≤6 ft or confined; attended. This is shoreline access for fossils/views—not a designated swimming beach. Park states no designated swimming areas.
Fees Covered by York River passenger parking fee ($5/$5). No separate beach fee found.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkChesterfield
VSP: leash ≤6 ft or confined; attended; clean up. Pets not in public buildings, food service, designated swimming areas, yurts. Cabin overnight pet fee $20/night if lodging.
Fees Parking: Pocahontas $7 weekdays / $10 weekends (Apr–Oct weekend rate rule; Memorial Day/4th/Labor Day weekend rates). Boat/equestrian add-ons $3. Day-use parking required.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkPowhatan
VSP 6-ft leash or confined; park page: pets must be on a leash no longer than 6 ft at all times on trails.
Fees Parking: Powhatan $5 / $5 (standard and weekends) per DCR fee table effective 5/21/2026.
Source check · 2026-09-23
shorelineGloucester Point
Gloucester County parks page: dogs must remain on a leash at all times; Sec. 13.5-13: dog secured by collar with chain/cord/leash not exceeding 8 feet, under complete and immediate control.
Fees UNKNOWN day-use beach fee on county parks page (none listed for beach entry). Picnic shelter reservations seasonal fees listed separately.
Source check · 2026-09-23
shorelineColonial Beach
Town FAQ: dogs not allowed on the beach April 1–September 30. Off-season allowance implied Oct 1–Mar 31. Exact leash-length requirement for allowed season UNKNOWN on town FAQ snippet; Virginia.org tourism says leashed/well-behaved—treat leash length as UNKNOWN; assume leashed until ordinance text located.
Fees Parking: town FAQ discusses resident stickers / paid stickers for free parking within town—visitor pay-parking details UNKNOWN from FAQ extract; verify Beaches & parking town resources.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkRichmond
Designated off-leash dog park per City JRPS/Byrd Park rules. Outside the fenced dog park, city unleashed-pets ban / leash law applies. Inside: follow posted dog-park norms (Friends of Barker Field)—detailed posted rules UNKNOWN from city page alone.
Fees No entry fee stated.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkRichmond
Designated off-leash dog park (large and small dog areas) on eastern lower terrace of Chimborazo Park. Outside fence: city leash law. City page: no unleashed pets in city parks (except designated dog parks).
Fees No entry fee stated.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkHenrico
Fenced off-leash areas (separate small/large, synthetic grass). Handlers must remain in view/control; handlers 16+. Outside fenced area: assume leash (Henrico general park animal rules not fully fetched)—leash outside fence treated as required until confirmed otherwise. License tags; no dogs in heat/sick/aggressive.
Fees No dog-park fee stated on Henrico page.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkNorth Chesterfield
Off-leash inside fenced runs; on-leash until inside. Voice control; carry leash; proof of license/rabies; no pinch/spike/choke collars inside; no children under 10 in fenced area; clean waste; fill holes. Aggressive/ill/heat/puppies <4 months prohibited.
Fees No fee stated on Rockwood facility page.
Source check · 2026-09-23
patioRichmond
Leashed, well-behaved dogs welcome outdoors in beer garden only; not inside taproom. Water bowls and treats on request.
Fees No cover stated; pay for food/drink.
Source check · 2026-09-23
patioRichmond
Official Fulton page: spacious dog-friendly patio. Indoor pet policy UNKNOWN on Fulton page (do not assume indoor OK). Virginia.org secondary mentions leash on patio for Triple Crossing generally—confirm leash expectation on site.
Fees No cover stated; food/beer menu priced on site.
Source check · 2026-09-23
patioRichmond
Leashed dogs welcome in outdoor spaces. Dogs not permitted in indoor taprooms except service dogs (FAQ).
Fees No cover stated.
Source check · 2026-09-23
patioRichmond
Leashed dogs welcome in outdoor spaces (West Creek page). Dogs not permitted in indoor taprooms except service dogs (FAQ).
Fees No cover stated.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkChester
Designated Chesterfield leash-free dog park (small/large runs; agility area per ParkRules). On-leash until inside fence; voice control inside; carry leash; proof of license and rabies; no children under 10 in fenced area; no pinch/spike/choke collars inside; clean waste; fill holes. Outside fence: County Code §4-23(c) dogs must be leashed at all times in parks.
Fees No dog-park fee stated on Goyne facility page or ParkRules.
Source check · 2026-09-23
shorelineMidlothian
Chesterfield: dogs must be leashed at all times (County Code §4-23(c)); trails: all dogs must be leashed; clean up waste. Not a designated off-leash dog park.
Fees Admission free / none stated on facility page.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkMidlothian
Designated Chesterfield leash-free facility with separate small/large runs (ParkRules). On-leash until inside; voice control; carry leash; license/rabies proof; no children under 10 in fence; standard county dog-park prohibitions (heat/ill/aggressive/puppies <4 mo; no food/glass/alcohol/treats in fence).
Fees No fee stated on ParkRules.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkHenrico
Fenced off-leash dog park (~1 acre; 6-ft fence; separate small/large areas) per Henrico Dorey page. Outside fence: Henrico Code §14-45 — animals in parks caged, penned, or on leash ≤10 ft except in designated off-leash fenced areas. Handlers 16+ in view/control; license tags; no heat/sick/aggressive; no gum/smoking/glass.
Fees No dog-park fee stated.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkHenrico
Henrico parks: dogs welcome on leash (Park Tips); §14-45 leash ≤10 ft or caged/penned. Not an off-leash park. Nature Center: personal pets prohibited indoors; service dogs only (ADA) per Three Lakes pet policy.
Fees No park entry fee stated.
Source check · 2026-09-23
shorelineHenrico
Henrico Park Tips: dogs welcome on leash. §14-45 leash ≤10 ft. Not a designated off-leash area. County: no swimming areas in Henrico parks.
Fees No entry fee stated on Deep Bottom page.
Source check · 2026-09-23
hikeRichmond / Henrico
Virginia Capital Trail Foundation etiquette: keep dogs on short leashes and clean up. Foundation COVID FAQ: dogs allowed if leashed at all times. James City County facility page (trail partner): leash no longer than 8 feet; waste removal. Local park codes still apply where trail overlaps (e.g., Henrico §14-45 ≤10 ft; City JRPS ordinance on city segments).
Fees No trail use fee stated on Foundation trail-rules page.
Source check · 2026-09-23
shorelineRichmond
JRPS: City Code §4-243 immediate control (fence/tether/leash); FOJRP: every dog in the Park should be leashed; §4-246 no unleashed dogs in city parks where dogs may enter. Off-leash only at designated city dog parks (not here).
Fees No entry fee stated on FOJRP page.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkRichmond
City JRPS rules page lists Northside Dog Park among areas where off-leash dogs are allowed. Outside the fenced OLA: city leash law (§4-243 / §4-246). Detailed posted interior rules UNKNOWN on city JRPS page alone.
Fees No entry fee stated.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkCumberland
VSP: leash ≤6 ft or confined; attended; clean up. Park page: pets on leash ≤6 ft when not enclosed; pets not allowed on the beach; may not be left unattended. Pets not in public buildings / food service / designated swimming areas / yurts (statewide pets page).
Fees Parking: Bear Creek Lake $7 / $7 (standard and weekends) per DCR parking fees effective 5/21/2026. Boat trailer +$3; equestrian +$4 if used.
Source check · 2026-09-23
patioRichmond
Official FAQ: well-behaved dogs welcome on first-level outdoor patio only; leashed at all times; no excessive barking/growling; no toys/balls; owner legally responsible. Not stated as indoor/rooftop OK—treat indoor and rooftop as not pet areas.
Fees No cover stated; pay for food/drink.
Source check · 2026-09-23
patioRichmond
Official site lists “Dog Friendly in our Outdoor Biergartens.” Indoor dog policy not stated as allowed—treat indoor as UNKNOWN / assume outdoor biergarten only. Leash length not specified on homepage list—assume leashed; confirm on site.
Fees No cover stated.
Source check · 2026-09-23
patioGoochland
Official Visit/FAQ: leashed dogs welcome across the farm, indoors and out. Farm guidelines page: leashed dogs welcome in outdoor spaces. (FAQ is stronger on indoor allowance—cite both.)
Fees No cover stated; pay for beer/food trucks.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkGlen Allen
Henrico Park Tips: dogs welcome on leash; §14-45 ≤10 ft. Not an off-leash park. Do not enter animal pastures; do not feed/touch farm animals (Meadow Farm page).
Fees No park entry fee stated.
Source check · 2026-09-23
parkRichmond
Friends of Bryan Park: dogs allowed; ALL pets MUST be on leashes; NO dogs in the Azalea Gardens; owners must pick up waste. Aligns with City Code §4-243 / §4-246 (no unleashed dogs in city parks). Off-leash only at designated dog parks (Northside nearby).
Fees No entry fee stated on Friends page.
Source check · 2026-09-23
No places match. Try another filter or reset.